+251 960 33 4900 ethiotargettour@gmail.com

Public holidays are celebrated according to the Ethiopian (Julian) Calendar which consists of twelve months of thirty days each and a thirteenth month of five days (six days in leap year). The calendar is seven years behind the Western or Gregorian Calendar, with New Year falling in the month of September. Sunday is the weekly day of rest.

  • September 11 Ethiopian New Year
  • September 26 The finding of the True Cross (Meskal)
  • October 02 Id ul Fitr (Ramadhan)
  • December 09 Id ul Ahda (Sacrifice)
  • January 08 Ethiopian Christmas
  • January 20 Ethiopian Epiphany
  • March 02 Victory of Adwa
  • March 20 Birth of Prophet Mohammed (Mauwlid)
  • April 25 Ethiopian Good Friday
  • April 27 Ethiopian Easter
  • May 01 International Labour Day
  • May 05 Ethiopian Patriots’ Victory Day
  • May 28 Downfall of the Dergue Regime

*The holidays of Fiqh of Eid al-Fitr and Eid al-Adha and the Prophet Muhammad (S.A.W.) are subject to moon sighting.